Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Little Invaders

My toddler recently started preschool for the first time. All the excitement of watching her meet her teacher and play with her new classmates was great. She a really fun time and talks constantly about each day. During each day, she played with play-dough, crayons, rode the bikes in the play yard and interacted with the other kids. And that’s where it happened. The smallest little invaders introduced themselves silently to her and hitched a ride home.

Now, with a fever and a sad little misery that breaks my heart, she is home sick and probably introducing her new little friends to the rest of the family. This in turn will find it’s way to other people we have interacted with recently and start the 2006/2007 flu season. Birds are not the problem, it is preschool. I am now convinced that is where the health epidemics start. Little kids play in the dirt and with all sorts of animals and bugs. Unlocking the next Ebola hidden in the ground, and with no sense of hygiene, they touch things, each other and bring things home. Adults, in their vast social networks then send things spreading like wildfire.

Now I just have to hope my immune system is up to preschool for the sake of all humanity.

One response

  1. My son is 10 mos old and I have been sick more since he has been in daycare then I have in the last 5 years. I knew germs existed, but I didn’t know how many or their ferocity until several kids were added into the mix. Good Luck!

    September 20, 2006 at 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

