Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Sunset at the Dumbarton

Today I left work a bit early in hopes of catching some of the waning light of the day. The wildlife sanctuary at the Dumbarton bridge was a good place as any to try and complete a couple Daily Shoot assignments.  While at it, I was hoping to get a bit more practice with sunset photography and if really lucky catch a good picture of a bird.  While still only owning a 28-135 lens, I wasn’t holding out for a killer bird picture.

This is the type of shot I was after.  I am not necessarily thrilled with it, but it was fun to try and get this one.  Finding the dead tree and placing it against the power lines and marsh seemed like a good combination.  I think a wider lens may have made this a bit more dramatic.  I am using this one for #ds43: “Trees come in all shapes and sizes. This time of year they may be covered in snow. Make a photo of an interesting tree.”

I would be hard-pressed to find one with snow out here.

After my attempts with the sunset, I noticed this next shot with my car. 
I liked the way the car, the radio tower, fence and bridge came together.  For this one I waited until a truck drove by to add a sense of bustle.

Finally, my other favorite shot from this mini-outing was the photo of four cones that were stuck in the silty mud under the bridge.  I love how dirty this photo is and how along with the bright reflections in the water.  The cones captured the setting sun to make it look like a flash was used on this shot.

Finally, I have been hunting for a picture for #ds41: “Share a little bit about yourself by making a photo that exemplifies your part of the country or world. (@book_up)” While this one is similar to the one with the tree, it captures a bit more about the area.  Marsh, Wildlife, hills and the power that drives silicon valley.

Leave a Reply

