Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Still Chasing Bees

I have been quiet on here lately, but the shutter has still been firing.  Bees are still capturing the attention of my camera.  They are challenging to capture in interesting moments, which usually means flight.  I’ve been getting pretty close and  I upset one of the larger bees (which are quite aggressive even towards the other bees).  The trick I learned here was a shutter speed of about 1600 was required to get the better shots.  Manual focus seems to be the way to go along with patience.  Chasing the bees with the camera is just plain frustrating as they are far faster than the focus.

Reverse lens macro of one of the bees on the spanish lavender.

4 responses

  1. Nice bee shots Sean. I bet the reverse lens shot was hard with the shallow DoF.

    March 31, 2010 at 4:28 am

  2. Thanks Josh. Yes, the reverse lens shot was hard. It was easier on the small bees. I never did get one of the larger bees as they didn’t sit still very long and were much more temperamental. One of them chased me off rather aggressively. 🙂

    March 31, 2010 at 9:09 am

  3. Okay. WOW. I’ve tried this so I know the difficulty. The first two shots are amazing. Well done, indeed!

    April 1, 2010 at 5:30 am

  4. Thanks, Tracy. It is fun trying to capture them. The best part is that they keep coming back to the same spots so patience pays off.

    April 1, 2010 at 7:11 am

Leave a Reply

