Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Sweetgum Monkeyball

Sweetgum Monkeyball

The other day, a coworker gave me these monkeyballs from the sweetgum tree as a challenge to make an interesting photo with.  The weather and lighting weren’t right for the first couple of days.  However, this evening, the light was cooperating and I was able to take the shots I was envisioning.  The texture and shadow works good here.  I think I fulfilled the challenge nicely :).

Sweetgum Monkeyball

2 responses

  1. Yes, you did. 🙂

    I have a whole bucketful of these (didn’t know they were called ‘monkeyballs’) and have tried to photograph them in a similar manner. I didn’t even think of putting them in b/w (!), which probably would have made the images I took appeal to me (as they never saw the light of day).

    Hmmm, now just where did I put those things?? 🙂

    April 6, 2010 at 6:31 am

  2. I really like these photos. Black and white just emphasizes the texture of the balls. Well done! and Milkayphoto, you can send some of your bucketful of seedpods my way. 🙂

    October 27, 2011 at 9:52 am

Leave a Reply

