Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Hummingbird Chases a Bug

Hummingbird Chases a Bug

Today is the first time one of my Daily Shoot suggestions was used.  Today also has horrible weather and I won’t be going out shooting in it.  So instead, I am sharing a photo that I’ve been sitting on this for a while.  The image quality isn’t great, but this catch shot of a hummingbird chasing a bug is one I feel lucky to have.  In this, the beak is open and the bug is plainly visible.

This was taken in San Jose while at a park with the kids.  I was trying to shoot some of the birds in the trees when I saw this hummingbird in the air.  This was shot a 110 mm on a 70-300mm lens at 1/1000 f5.6.

#ds147 – Birds are beautiful and rewarding to photograph. Challenge yourself by making a photo of a bird today! (@theskane)

2 responses

  1. WOW Sean! What a capture!

    I do feel your pain. (Thoughts like, ‘I know it IS a wonderful shot but why oh why couldn’t it be in perfect sharpness??’). I bet Nik Dfine could do wonders in cleaning up the digital noise (I use Dfine on most images).

    OR, you could work that noise to your advantage by converting this to b&w. I bet it would be FANTASTIC! I’d blow it up LARGE, too and hang it in a prominant place just so that I could see it every day and smile. 🙂

    April 12, 2010 at 6:50 am

  2. Wow, thanks for the kind words! I’ll have to try Nik Dfine. This has been one of those shots that I go back and forth on in how much I like it. To me, the best part is the surprise bug. I thought I was just getting a photo of the hummingbird in flight. I didn’t even see the bug until I got home and started reviewing the images.

    The bug explains all the erratic flying and pausing the bird was doing.

    I’ll re-post this after I spend some time cleaning it up more, thanks for the advice!

    April 12, 2010 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

