Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Bees, Again

Bee on Lavender

A moment was found this evening to take a few (well 180) photos.  I only managed to get as far as the sidewalk when the bees and warm light caught my eye yet again.  Today I was determined to get some better focused and timed shots.  I set the camera on shutter (1600) priority and auto iso so I can focus on focus.  To get these shots I center-shot each one since I knew the PP cropping would be significant.  This gave me more leeway if the bees took off.

I feel like I am getting better at these shots.  Each of these captures some good detail with the bees and their interaction with the lavender.  Also, I finally got a head-on shot.  Tongue out and everything!

Honeybee Staredown

Bee on Lavender

Bee in Flight

5 responses

  1. Sean, that second image cracks me up! Should be called “Incoming!” or “Headed Right For Us!” (if you are a South Park fan). I don’t think I’ve EVER seen the ‘face’ of a bee before – amazing!

    April 14, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    • I was happy to get that one! I got razzed on my “Buzz Buzz” post from friends. They suggested I should have called it “Buzz Butts” since it was just the backsides of bees. Now I have the face to balance it all out!

      April 14, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      • Ha! Aren’t friends great? 😉

        April 15, 2010 at 5:31 am

  2. These are amazing, especially the second one!

    April 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

