Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Lone Tree, Morgan Hill

Lone Tree, Morgan Hill

Today I’m taking things in a completely different direction.  It’s all about experimenting for me in this shot.  I’m going for a sense of old, a sense of dark, and a bit scary.  Almost like a zombie silhouette will appear  over the hill.  I really like the steep angle, the white fence and the low clouds in this shot.  I’m also a fan of trying to make some eerie images, even if I’m the only one that appreciates them. 🙂  (see my parking garage set.  Another experiment with the dark side)

I’m curious what works and what doesn’t on this shot.  Let me know.

5 responses

  1. Judy Knesel

    My first impression was not the dark side or scary. Sorry. It is a nice image though. Most photos like this are never on this steep an angle so it makes this unique. I like the bright portion of the sky because it emphasizes the lone tree.

    April 15, 2010 at 8:52 am

    • Judy,

      Thanks for the feedback, it is appreciated! Of course, now I am wondering what your first impression was in respect to the mood of the image.

      April 15, 2010 at 9:10 am

  2. Oooh, I so got the zombie reference! But I think this images emotes different things…it can be scary OR serene.

    I go back and forth whether or not if the image should be cropped a bit, pushing the tree into the coveted sweet spot where the 1/3 vertical meets the 1/3 horizontal (Rule of Thirds, ya know?) I’d have to see it to be sure. Then, again, sometimes breaking the rules is just simply more fun. 🙂

    In any event, I like this shot! So, experimental success in my book!

    April 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    • I messed with “the rules” on this some. Having the tree closer to center was deliberate to give a bit more uneasiness. As to the crop, I am still not sure where I sit on it. On one hand, yes, the tree gets underplayed as displayed above, but the fence has some story to tell. A tighter crop shoves the fence into the bottom corner and then it starts to look out-of-place.

      Looks decent if I cut it all way down, but I also lose the flare of the cloud on the right which I like too. 🙂 I’ll leave it. It has plenty of flaws at 100% anyways.

      April 16, 2010 at 9:03 am

      • After more thought, I agree! When cropped, the whole lovely play on those angles is lost. So, my REVISED comment is ‘PERFECT!’ 😀

        April 16, 2010 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

