Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Soaring

Soaring

This shot has sat around for some time, ready to go and not let out.  I have very mixed feelings on it and I’m not sure why.  On one hand it always catches my eye in the grid display in Lightroom while reviewing older shots.  Whenever I open it with some renewed excitement, I feel let down that the bird (I believe it is a turkey vulture) is not larger in the frame.  Perhaps it works since it gives a sense of scale as-is.  I do love the cloud formations.

This was taken on top of a hill in Morgan Hill on the same day I shot Rusted Bolt, Old Barn, Coyote Valley and Inside an Old Barn.

Today I am planning on going to the Japanese Tea Gardens and tomorrow to the Embarcadero up in the city.  I should have some good material for awhile after that.

4 responses

  1. Hi Sean. I think I know the issue with this shot. Compositionally, the bird is in the wrong spot, with its wing being clipped by the top cloud. Also, the bird is headless and I think subconsiously, the mind picks up on that. I agree the clouds are lovely and the shot is actually stronger without the bird. JMHO…

    April 17, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    • I think you’re right. That is probably why I like it small. Effectively, no bird. Once I get around to getting Photoshop CS5 one day, maybe I’ll try the fancy new context fill to remove the bird. 🙂

      April 17, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  2. I actually really like these type of shots. I like the feel of this photo, so dramatic. 🙂

    April 18, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    • I’m glad you like it! I like the dramatic aspect as well, despite my other self criticisms. 🙂

      April 18, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

