Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Morning at the Ferry Building, San Francisco

Morning at the Ferry Building, San Francisco

This morning when the Ferry Building in San Francisco opened, I managed to get to the second floor to get some shots of the wonderful architecture. Supposedly there is a rule against using tripods there.  The guards would walk from far away to politely ask me to stop.  The first said I could use my tripod on the second floor which I did until the second floor guard asked me to stop as well. I originally wanted to do some HDR shots, but instead I opted for this single exposure. I love the colors here.

I warmed this up slightly and gave a small bump in saturation and some slight manual vignetting.

#ds151 – Every town, village, or city has distinguishing icons and landmarks. Make a photo of one wherever you are today.

9 responses

  1. I enjoy looking at this photo. Not only it is a beautiful architectural shot but it also brings warmth and a very positive feel of coming summer.

    April 19, 2010 at 12:48 am

    • Ana, thanks for stopping by. I hadn’t thought about the feeling of an approaching summer, but I like it! Thank you!

      April 19, 2010 at 11:01 am

  2. Good leading lines, and the lighting created a nice mood. Too bad security stopped you from getting the HDR you wanted.

    April 19, 2010 at 6:31 am

    • I did manage to get a few bracketed sequences before I broke down the tripod each time. I’ll post them soon. I haven’t processed one yet, so I am very curious how it will turn out.

      April 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

  3. Beautiful shot, I love the lighting on this. Did the guards tell you why tripods aren’t allowed?

    April 19, 2010 at 10:17 am

    • Thank you! Neither guard could tell me why it wasn’t allowed. I can only assume that it was because people could trip when the place fills up. Neither guard really cared that I had a tripod, they were more concerned that they would get in trouble for not telling me to stop using it. 🙂

      April 19, 2010 at 11:06 am

  4. Those colors are really nice. I like the architecture too. 🙂

    April 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    • Thanks, Consuelo. The whole place is pretty cool. I would have loved to get up the third floor bridges.

      April 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  5. That sure is one impressive place, and funny about the security… I guess they’re like that everywhere… Maybe they thought your tripod was some new form of rocket launcher… lol…

    April 20, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

