Photography, Cycling and the Internets

No Extensions, No Problem

White Clover

Encouraged by Tracy and Michaela discussing lens extensions, I thought I’d give it a go.  Only, I don’t have any, and I don’t have a macro lens.  To top things off, I want to experiment with light leaks.  So why not make the best of the situation?  Reverse lens macro on the 135mm lens, hand-held, about 3/4″ away from the body.  Perfect!

This is a white clover flower.  You know, the little white flowers in the grass at the park.  For this shot I laid down in the grass on my stomach and used the ground to place my elbows on while holding the lens and the camera body.  I love the light leak colors from this technique.  The challenges here are the razor thin DOF and the moving parts — The lens, the flower, the body.  Sharp focus is something I haven’t quite mastered yet, but this one is pretty good.

10 responses

  1. Real nice colour and tone you’ve captured here Sean… Mind you, I’ve always had too many concerns about dust getting in the camera when using the reverse lens technique to give it a go myself… I got a bug in there once JUST changing lenses….

    April 27, 2010 at 12:08 am

    • I would think that the reverse lens mount would help with your dust concerns. As for the handheld, with the gap, yeah, there is just a risk. I bet if I had any bigger camera than the 50D, I would be even more paranoid about it. Bugs, I didn’t consider as an issue. Now it’s on the radar. Thanks!

      April 27, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  2. Wow, that came out great! (And thanks for the mention, and link).
    I’ve heard about the reverse macro with a 50mm, and some kind of adapter that allows you to attach the lens to the camera.
    I don’t know if you know that, but you don’t need a macro lens for the ext. tubes, you van use them with just about any lens.

    April 27, 2010 at 3:46 am

    • Thank you! No problem about the link, they are easy enough to embed with a reference. 🙂 I’m just operating in the ‘resourceful’ mode right now. I’m holding out for a flash as the next purchase, so I’ll get something like the tubes eventually. For now, I’ll just fake it. 😉

      April 27, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      • Adding a little fuel to the fire… I have ProOptics extension tubes, which are about half the price of Kenkos 😉
        A flash is a good investment, too, though.

        April 27, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  3. I agree with the others – well done! LOVE that supporting purpley-pink color. Michaela is correct – there is an adapter ring that allows you to reverse a lens and attach it to the camera so that you don’t have to handhold and make sure eveything is lined up. I even found this link where they show you how to make one! http://www.diyphotography.net/diy_reverse_macro_ring

    April 27, 2010 at 6:47 am

    • My friend has a mount. The one you posted looks interesting, but quite a bit of work. I have to imagine its worth the time and saved frustration just to buy one. Glad you like the purpley-pink color. Considering the lens inversion, that was on the sun side of the camera. It creates a cool effect where the subject lighting and the light leaks are reversed.

      April 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm

  4. This is a neat shot. I like the colors too.

    April 27, 2010 at 4:47 pm

  5. So reversing rings still exist? I have one around here somewhere from my film days. : ) Never thought of trying it without the mount though…you’re brave.

    An extension tube will shorten the close focus distance of any lens you use it with and also eliminate that lens’s ability to focus to infinity. I use mine with a few different lenses and it works pretty well. You can also get bags of rice or legumes or barley or something at the grocery store and use them for camera supports on the ground. Cheap and they work well. Then use Live View to focus – I use the 5x and 7x zoom all the time when I do macro stuff. It helps in a huge way.

    April 28, 2010 at 4:41 am

    • Oh, I never looked to see if they are for sale new. I just know they exist is some form or another. Great tip about the bean bags. I’ll have to keep that one in mind. The elbow thing only works so well. 🙂

      April 28, 2010 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

