Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Snakeskin Shadow on Handrail

Snakeskin Shadow on Handrail

I had time to do a photo-walk this evening.  Go figure!  Walking over the bridge crossing the freeway, I noticed the chain-link-fence was casting this awesome shadow on the handrail.  It created this snake-skin like effect that looks painted-on.   If you look, you can make out a car just under the rail.

#ds167 – Make two photos today of the same subject: one with deep depth of field, one with shallow. Post your favorite of the two.

I took several of these with several depths of field.  So yeah, I think I completed today’s assignment. 🙂

9 responses

  1. Really cool shot. I like the effect too and the lighting is awesome. 🙂

    May 1, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    • Thank you! I am wondering if this one will get traction in my photography club. I’m pro on it right now, lets see if that feeling lasts. 😀

      May 2, 2010 at 11:51 am

  2. Sure does look permanently etched on there Sean, and I think you called it right with this depth of field too… Nice one…

    May 2, 2010 at 2:40 am

    • Now it wasn’t intentional when I was taking the shot. However, now that is done, I can argue… “The fence in the background paints the picture of what the shadows are in the foreground” 😉 Thanks, Brian

      May 2, 2010 at 9:39 am

  3. Great DOF and wow! that shadow patten is awesome! Definitely looks like it is part of the railing. Love the background, too. 🙂

    May 2, 2010 at 6:44 am

  4. At first I thought “eewww!” and then I realized that it wasn’t really snake skin. Very cool shot.

    May 2, 2010 at 7:06 am

    • Sweet! It was believable, that is what I was after! Thanks!

      May 2, 2010 at 11:52 am

  5. That’s a great shot, Sean, especially after reading the description. Good eye on that one….sometimes I overlook simple things like shadows that can make an interesting photo.

    May 4, 2010 at 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

