Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Alyssum

I love being close enough to walk to farmer’s market.  When the weather is nice it makes for a good Sunday morning event.  One house along the way has a wonderful flower garden in the front yard.  I stopped to take a few shots, and let my girls try their hand at some as well.

These Alyssum Flowers are my work but it won’t be long until I’m featuring the kids stuff.  They love taking flower pictures. But the rule apparently is, one photo per flower please.  No more.  No duplicates, no matter if it is from one location or another.  That means one poppy photo, one daisy photo.  I guess this means we either need a bigger garden or we’ll have to start traveling soon. 🙂

Alyssum Flowers

9 responses

  1. Real nice Sean, with a wonderful depth of field and deep rich colour…

    May 4, 2010 at 9:01 am

  2. Maybe it’s just my monitor, but this one looked a tad bit dark to me. Perhaps you intended it that way. Good focal point though with the one clump in focus.

    May 4, 2010 at 9:03 am

    • Yeah, I was going for a dark look everywhere but the focal point. It may be too much, or it may need a tighter crop. I do like the one little bit rising from the darkness tho. 🙂

      May 4, 2010 at 9:42 am

  3. I like it! I don’t think it’s too dark at all, because the darkest areas are the ones that are most out of focus, so the darkness isn’t distracting (to me anyway). The purple alyssum is really pretty, I’ve only seen it in white.

    May 5, 2010 at 3:39 am

    • Sweet! We have a similar eye! 😀 Thanks!

      May 7, 2010 at 1:02 pm

  4. Nice capture of these little gems. They smell so good I’m always a bit distracted when photographing them. Dark is my preference so I see this photograph as perfect!

    May 5, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    • Jewel, I never noticed a smell from them. I may have to pay more attention next time. Of course it could be because some of the nearby flowers were overwhelming. 🙂 Thanks!

      May 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm

  5. You know a tighter crop might work better, but this work’s great. I like the processing that was done, the shallow DoF is nice. BTW what camera do you work with?

    May 9, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    • You may be right on the need for cropping. I have a few times, held my fingers up to screen to frame a crop. I haven’t yet tried it in Lightroom. Maybe I should. As for my camera, I’m using a Canon 50D.

      May 10, 2010 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

