Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Better to Post Something?

I haven’t been out shooting recently since my schedule has been pretty impacted.  You know, late nights at work and all.  I have a couple of images that I have been sitting on.  Both of which I was happy with while I was shooting, and neither of which did anything for me once I got them on the computer.  They made my “don’t delete” cut, but I didn’t post them.  Since I haven posted in a couple days, and I’m not really doing a 365 project, I wonder, is it better to post something than nothing?  Probably.

The first image is from my last time shooting which was last Sunday.  In the same little flower garden that the last posts have come from.  The second image is from my outing a few weeks ago in San Francisco.

11 responses

  1. Wow both shots are quite marvelous, especially the first. I’m a sucker for flowers.

    May 7, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    • Flowers are definitely nice subjects. Not to mention they usually cooperate. Unless of course, it’s windy out. 🙂 Thanks, Roman.

      May 8, 2010 at 9:45 am

  2. Wow – your shots are just getting better and better and I love the flower – the composition and colors are amazing!!!!!! What is in that second shot – looks like it could be a banister? Keep up the great work!! Glad you posted these !!

    May 8, 2010 at 11:39 am

    • Thank you, Melanie. I really appreciate it. 🙂

      The second shot is a post-cap on a railing along the dock’s edge at the ferry building in San Francisco. I think they are brass. The black behind it is water, which I didn’t manage to successfully capture with the foreground detail.

      May 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  3. I really enjoy your blog, so I’m saying post SOMETHING 🙂

    LOVE the first one! The second one is interesting, but I would have liked to see the detail of the seal a little better. Nice composition, though.

    May 8, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    • Note taken, I’ll try to keep the flow going. Lord knows I have tons of stuff the world hasn’t seen yet. 🙂

      The first one I fussed with a bit. I do like the detail in the flower. The natural rich colors created some detail challenges so I took it into Photoshop and ran a high-pass filter on it to enhance it just a bit more, and really bring out the radiating lines.

      Good comment on the seal. I struggled on the composition of this one when taking it. In the end, it just isn’t exciting.

      May 8, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  4. I struggle with this as well, Sean. Very often, I don’t want to post ANYTHING but, because I committed to, I do and then am totally surprised that I get positive feedback. We are our own worst critics! I think both of these are nice shots, but I can see where you might think they are missing ‘something.’ (They’re not. 🙂 ) I play this same game ALL the time. It’s a sickness, really. I bet when my project is officially over, I won’t post as much. We shall see.

    May 8, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    • 🙂 I think more than having a win on the technical merits of the photos, which I think these hit. (Well, I still think the composition of the first one could have been improved). Neither one tells a story. In contrast of recent flower shots, the Rose told a small story about the sunset. The Alyssum showed that the one little bunch of flowers was basking in the light.

      But yes, I am probably my 2nd worst critic. The judges at photo club can be brutal! 😀

      May 8, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  5. Real lucky you never consigned them to the bin as they’re real nice shots… Great colour and details Sean…

    May 8, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    • Thanks, Brian. I agree on the color and details.

      May 8, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  6. Both excellent shots, I’m glad you posted them 🙂

    May 8, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

