Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Well Hello, Daisy

Well Hello, Daisy

Today I bought a circular polarizing filter.  So naturally, what is the first thing I do to break it in?  Take it off the camera and do some reverse-lens macro shots.  It’s what you would have done, right?  That’s what I thought.

What we’re looking at here is a little daisy that was growing in the grass field of a local school.  This was taken at 135mm focal length.  Isn’t this shot one that is required of anyone taking flower photos?  I thought it was, so I made my attempt at it.

It was windy taking this.  Reverse lens, especially since I have to do it all hand-held, means the wind is especially troublesome.  This is easily solved by picking the flower, placing it on a chair that has a blue fabric and then relying on the incredibly small DOF.  Everyone will just think its the sky.  Oh wait, I shouldn’t have said that last part. 🙂

6 responses

  1. That’s right! Never should have mentioned that the blue background isn’t the sky 😉 After all, polarizers and the sky go together quite nicely (provided the sun is in the right spot).
    Love those little flowers. They grow ALL OVER in Germany, where I grew up, and I really miss them now.

    May 8, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    • Hah! I probably shouldn’t have mentioned it but it was more fun that way. The little flowers are pretty nice. They don’t grow everywhere around here, just in grass fields where weed control isn’t a priority.
      I’ll use the new filter soon I’m sure.

      May 8, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  2. Oh, I like this one Sean, the background colour is also a nice contrast. 🙂

    May 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  3. VERY clever, Sean! Never would have guessed at the sky trickery which means it is well done.

    Something so very clean and fresh about blue, white and yellow. Makes me think of bright days with fresh lines hanging on the line to dry…:-)

    May 8, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    • A shallow DOF lets you get away with lots :). I’m stoked you couldn’t tell!

      May 8, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

