Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Caught

Caught

I really like this image.  This is a single grab-shot that I got really lucky with.  Walking through downtown, I noticed a nice row of benches curling around in the park across the street.  Surprisingly, there were no people walking around at the time.  Just this one gentleman who was sitting on the center bench watching the world go by.  I liked the scene, which was about to vanish as the crosswalk signal was turning green, sending pedestrians scurrying.  The scene was about to vanish forever.  Thankfully, the camera was already in aperture priority mode so I didn’t have to fuss with it.  Rather, just lift, check the corners and shoot.  And just as soon as the shutter fired, I lost the scene.  No do-overs.

After taking it, I thought it would be nice but nothing special.  That changed when I brought it up at home,  in Lightroom.  As it turns out, he wasn’t the only one in the cross-hairs.  I was  as well!  His expression made this photo!

10 responses

  1. Cool shot – but he does not look so happy about you taking his pic LOL 🙂

    May 9, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    • I’m surprised that I was singled out with all of the people around and being across the street. The camera was only up for maybe 1 second. C’est La Vie :).

      May 9, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  2. Capturing candid photographs of people can be a fun game. I like this one a lot.

    Thanks for sharing.

    D.

    May 9, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    • D, thanks for stopping by. I agree, it can be fun. It is definitely tricky to catch the great moments before they notice and alter their behavior.

      May 10, 2010 at 10:03 am

  3. I really like this shot and I did click on the photo to see his facial expression. I like how this photo tells a story.

    May 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    • The story is the best part to me as well. Even if it is “who the hell is this guy”. 🙂 Thanks, Consuelo.

      May 10, 2010 at 10:52 am

  4. Marvelous photo. Simple, elegant, and open for interpretation. The best kind of photograph a person can take.

    May 9, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    • Thanks, Roman. I’ll definitely take that compliment!

      May 10, 2010 at 10:53 am

  5. I agree! A wonderful little photographic surprise! Even before I could see his expression, I got the feeling that he was some undercover CIA agent, scouting the area for criminal activity. Good thing he wasn’t wearing the signature dark glasses! Nice capture!

    May 10, 2010 at 5:37 am

    • An agent eh? I didn’t look at it that way, but it is a good story. Maybe I need to create a whole story around it. D’s blog is good at that stuff. I’ll have to look at him for inspiration. 🙂 Thanks, Tracy.

      May 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

