Photography, Cycling and the Internets

When I Grow Up I’m Going to Be Different

Ladybug Larvae

What we have here is a small little creature that will grow up to be a lovely ladybug.  Yup, it’s a ladybug larvae.  I captured this guy (or lady) on a park bench yesterday.  As usual when I see insects this size, I immediately flipped over my lens and setup for a reverse-lens macro shot.  If I recall correctly, I took thisat about 135mm with the lens propped up against the arm of the bench (I was lucky that I had something to brace against).  This means I was able to be really still in comparison to many of my other RLM shots.  This image still has focus issues which I’ve decided to blame on the  minuscule DOF.  This was shot at 1/320, so camera shake should have been minimized.  Oh how this taunts me into getting a real macro lens.

4 responses

  1. Ugly little things, aren’t they? I didn’t know until just recently that they were ladybug larvae. I much prefer them when they are ladybugs. Much cuter 🙂

    Now order that macro lens! 😉 You won’t regret it!

    May 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    • Um, yes, ugly. I didn’t even know what it was until I got home and looked it up in the field guide. 🙂 Unfortunately, the macro lens will have to wait. Maybe by this time next year.

      May 11, 2010 at 4:42 pm

      • That’s too bad that the macro has to wait. There are two other options, though. 1) a set of extension tubes, which is the better option (ProOptics brand is about $100 for a set of three, and Kenko is about $180) or 2) a set of close-up filters. That’s what I had when I was still shooting film, and what I bought for my daughter when she had to give up the lens with the macro setting, and she gets better results with the filters than she did with that lens. They’re pretty cheap, too, but the price depends on the size you need.

        May 12, 2010 at 5:40 am

      • I’ll keep an eye out for those. I bet they can be found used even cheaper. And since there is no glass, who cares if they are dinged up or scratched. 🙂

        May 12, 2010 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

