Photography, Cycling and the Internets

My Gear

Since Roman asked, and Melanie had a post, I thought I would share what I use for my photos. It’s a long list so be prepared.

Canon 50D

Shown:

  • Canon 50D
  • 28-135mm f3.6-5.4 lens
  • Hoya Circular Polarizer filter
  • Some cheap (ack) UV filter
  • Lens hood

Not Shown:

  • Cable remote shutter control
  • Manfrotto Aluminum Tripod w/ Joystick head (it’s a tank!)
  • A tiny camera bag with all the cleaning gear needed.
  • 2 Batteries, 2 4-gig CF cards.
  • Lightroom 3 Beta 2
  • Photoshop CS3
  • Photomatix

That’s it.

12 responses

  1. Wow that’s the only lens you have?! I thought you were using a much faster lens than that, your shots have such beautiful DoF. Well good work, further proving you don’t need the most high end gear to make beautiful art.

    May 11, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    • Yup, the only one for now. 🙂 The kids, they seem to end up with all my money. 🙂 Good equipment would seem to make things easier, but I’ve seen some amazing things with as little as an iPhone. Thanks for the nice words.

      May 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

  2. Nice photo of your gear… but it would have been a BETTER photo if it was Nikon 😉

    May 12, 2010 at 5:34 am

  3. Cool. I was wondering what you were shooting with. I love that crusty fish shot and the one below it. Sweet. I love my 17-50mm F2.8 Tameron lens but I wish it had a longer reach.

    May 15, 2010 at 8:56 am

    • Too funny. My big want, well there are two, no wait, three. No wait, four. Is a wider-angle lens. The 17-50 sounds great! Other than that, it’s an external flash, a macro lens, and I’m drooling over the 70-200 f2.8 lens from Canon.

      May 15, 2010 at 9:06 am

  4. Thanks 🙂

    May 16, 2010 at 11:45 am

  5. That’s it I knew I wanted a Canon 5 D now I know really really really want a Canon 5D. ;+) Your photography is outstanding, great eye! Also super duper camera. I like my cameras but I must admit I have a little Camera Canon 5 D envy.

    May 23, 2010 at 7:14 am

    • lol, thank you Starla. However, I only have a 50D. I also have 5D envy and would like to have one some day. I’ve seen amazing photos from other photographers with smaller cameras than a 50D. Even an iPhone! For me it’s all about lots and lots of practice.

      May 23, 2010 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

