Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Americana

Americana

On Sunday evening, the clouds were setting up for what I was hoping would be an incredible sunset.   Because of that, when we went to dinner, I brought the camera and made sure we had a window seat so that I wouldn’t miss the magic hour.  I was prepared to abandon the family and run outside to start capturing it.  We finished before that time, and on the way outside, the wind was blowing and I saw this nice little scene that I had seen a million times before.  This time, I found it interesting.

The clouds on the coastal range, the flag blowing, and the old signs on the bowling alley.  Bowl, cocktails and an American flag.  It reminds me of moments from my childhood.  I processed this to try and capture the era of alley’s heyday.

7 responses

  1. Circa 60s? I love this sort of artifact. A lot of stories whispered from walls, I’m sure.

    D.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:32 am

    • 60s would be about right since that is when the neighborhoods around it went up.

      May 12, 2010 at 1:39 pm

  2. The light is really intersting here… and the colors remind me of an image shot though the tinted windows of a car.

    May 12, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    • Tinted windows.. I never saw that until you mentioned it. I think I agree, it does have that effect.

      May 12, 2010 at 1:40 pm

  3. This is a really interesting shot. The photo really tells a story. 🙂

    May 12, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  4. squonky

    The processing certainly did the job!

    This brings back a memory for me of a visit to see my parents-in-law near Denver, CO. At the mall not far from their house is a Taco Bell outlet. I remember seeing it being built back in 2006 and thinking that it was going to be a hell of a diner to eat in because the view to the west was straight over to the Rockies with nothing in the way at all (it stands on the brow of a hill and with no development on the opposite side of the road).

    We were back there for Christmas in 2007 and during one of my regular camera walks I remembered the Taco Bell which was still under construction last time and went to check it out. They only managed to build the darned thing with the drive through facing west towards the mountains and without a single window facing that way if you were eating in.

    I guess if you live near Denver then the Rockies are just there and it’s no big deal. For me as a Brit, I couldn’t stop laughing over their decision to build it that way :^) I never did go in and order anything.

    May 27, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    • Hah.. I am torn with your observation. I agree that it is odd to build a restaurant that has the potential for a view without the view. On the other hand, I want to get out of taco bell as fast as possible. 😀

      May 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

