Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Rooftop Sunset

Rooftop Sunset

After taking a few shots of the bowling alley in Americana, I rushed the family home to be back in time for magic hour.  As the sun moves further north, my ability to capture the sunset gets harder and harder without heading out further from home.  So as a last resort, I brought out the extension ladder and headed for the roof to get above all the obstructions.   What I completely forgot about was the power lines in the back yard!  (See Brian, I told you my neighborhood looked like the Leeds Castle grounds 😉 ).  I tried to make the most of it and capture as much of the sunset as I could.   My family thinks I’m nuts.  I probably am!

A Powerful Sunset

17 responses

  1. LOL… Well climbing on the roof to take a shot then I think I’d probably concur with your family… And yup… Very castle-esque…. lol… Have to confess though to being a bit of a sunset nut, and that top shot is real nice with the moody clouds….

    May 13, 2010 at 2:04 am

    • Without the bottom shot you probably never would have been able to piece together it was taken between power lines and the roof/tree line. 🙂 As they say, my home is my castle, so yes very castle-esque. 😉 Thanks, Brian!

      May 13, 2010 at 8:59 am

  2. Top shot is killer. Colors, comp and, oh, don’t forget the lone bird!!

    May 13, 2010 at 7:42 am

    • lol, I thought you’d be the one to call out the bird, Tracy. 🙂 I love it when the sun gets just behind the clouds. I think that one was taken about 10 seconds after the top of the sun was gone. Thanks!

      May 13, 2010 at 9:03 am

      • Ha! Yeah, it’s a sickness really….;-)

        May 14, 2010 at 5:36 am

  3. beautiful shots, perfect timing with the bird in the first one, too!

    May 13, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    • Thanks! I think the bird made the shot something special. Without it, it’s just another sunset. 😉

      May 13, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  4. aswirly

    Oh man, that sky is on fire! Gorgeous Sean.

    May 13, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  5. What a beautiful sunset you captured and no your not nuts just a determined passionate photographer, I can relate….lol

    May 13, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    • Passion, I like that! Thanks, Consuelo!

      May 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

  6. LOVE the first one!

    May 14, 2010 at 11:33 am

  7. Ugh so dreamy, especially that second image. Absolutely beautiful. You, Sean Kane, take my kinda photos.

    May 15, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    • My new desktop background =)

      How do you like SmugPug? I’ve been looking to sell some of my shots.

      May 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    • LOL thank you, Roman! I have my motivation to keep taking photos today! 😀 I love how your enthusiasm comes across in everything you write.

      May 16, 2010 at 9:17 am

  8. I like SmugMug, but I haven’t signed up for the professional package that lets me sell the images. I’m mainly just shooting for fun. I’m glad I could make your screensaver! As far as I know I have an image on my parent’s wall, your desktop, and a photo book of the kids’ softball season.

    May 16, 2010 at 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

