Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Red Fish, Blue Fish, Old Fish, New Fish

Old Fountain

The historic area of downtown San Jose has an old fountain in the park that doesn’t look like it has been used for years.  It is very rusty and very cool.  I was pressed for time on taking these since the fam was with me and impatient.  Not to mention, it was after brunch on Mother’s day.  I plan to return when I have more time.  In the meantime, I was climbing around a bit in the fountain and grabbed some detail shots.  I am pretty sure we’re looking at a fish head here.    Just under the upper-lip is a mosquito hiding out.  Apparently the small flying insects that surf in my photos surf on fish. 🙂

10 responses

  1. God, I love the way the rust came out. Amazing what age (and the subsequent chemical processes) does to the contraptions we create.

    D.

    May 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    • Rust and weathered patinas really make something interesting, don’t they? This thing is not only rusty, but is is very encrusted with the stuff. Thanks, D.

      May 14, 2010 at 9:36 am

  2. Real nice crusty details there Sean… and don’t you just love taking shots with an impatient family… lol…

    May 14, 2010 at 1:01 am

    • They just don’t understand that one, 10, even 20 photos of a single subject just aren’t enough. 20, 30 more minutes should almost get us there. They at least humor me. 🙂

      May 14, 2010 at 9:38 am

  3. I know ALL about whiney…. I mean “impatient”… family! Not to mention uncooperative! 😉
    This turned out great! Makes me wonder what it used to look like when it was new.

    May 14, 2010 at 11:31 am

    • I wonder which would look better. Old or new. I’m not sure myself. Thanks, Michaela.

      May 15, 2010 at 8:24 am

  4. I love this photograph, the textures are awesome and I too can relate to bringing the family and having to rush through things..lol

    May 14, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    • I am hoping today’s outing will be solo. I’ll have time to spend on a subject or two! Thank you, Consuelo.

      May 15, 2010 at 8:25 am

  5. Hey Sean, I love the colors!! Great photograph. 🙂
    Jan

    May 15, 2010 at 10:01 am

    • Thank you, Jan! Thanks for stopping by and welcome!

      May 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

