Photography, Cycling and the Internets

One of the Hardest Captures

Today’s capture comes with pain, frustration, and a bit of misery.  I wanted to jet off to get some photos in the evening light at the Heritage Rose Garden in San Jose.  The kids wanted to come along to take flower pictures of their own.  Sounds good.  I get the nice light, they get to hang out, my wife gets a break.

That is where things went wrong.  The rose garden isn’t really too close to anything.  As in, it’s not setup like a regular park.  So when my older daughter said, “I need to go potty really really bad,” just after I setup for my first photo after we drove out there; I had to figure out how to deal with the situation.  We worked around the issue, and I won’t go into detail how, but lets just say, timing was critical.

Back to shooting.  Of course, it’s quite windy so every shot takes tons of patience.  At least I have my tripod and remote shutter release.  Until I hear.  “She fell!  She fell and hurt herself!”  Apparently the kids were playing on a hill and my youngest one fell on the concrete and cut the inside of her lip, poor thing (she’s fine now).  That marked the end of the photo trip.  40 minutes of total driving, and 20 minutes of highly distracted shooting.  I wasn’t really happy with any of the shots, so here is the best of the outing.  Oh, in 30 more minutes, this one would have been so sweet.

White Roses

16 responses

  1. Oh, but the MEMORIES you will have every time you look at this shot! 😉
    I still like it. I don’t know how much (if anything) you cropped, but if you can figure out a nice crop to only include the bottom 2/3 of this picture, it would really improve it (at least in my opinion).

    Btw., a very important rule in my house: Go potty before we head out the door! Even if it’s just a very quick trip to the store.

    May 16, 2010 at 7:06 am

    • LOL. Leaving the house I had one thing on my mind. Get to my destination before the light was perfect. Then the kids begged to go, so it became a rush. The cropping suggestion might work. It is tough when you imagine a shot at the time of taking it, and then in PP, you want to achieve the look, even if it is at the expense of a sensible final result. 🙂

      I really wanted the sun to backlight all the white petals in the distance as the light got more and more orange. The wind may have prevented me from ever getting the shot since I probably needed to have the camera closed down more to get a slightly better depth of field.

      May 16, 2010 at 9:26 am

  2. Lol… That’s one thing I’m glad about, that my kids are now old enough to hang on to it for a while… I find it’s more me these days… lol… You still managed to get a nice shot the given the circumstances…

    May 16, 2010 at 7:29 am

    • Too funny, Brian. It turns out white petals are pretty hard to capture, to get the detail out of.

      May 16, 2010 at 9:27 am

  3. I agree. Great memory to have. It will bring a smile to your face each time. And there’s a reason to frame this shot and hang it to be seen each day. I’m with the others; I like it too. May not be what you hoped for but it still pleases me to see it. Thanks for posting it, along with the story.

    May 16, 2010 at 9:32 am

    • Thanks, Kate. I’m glad you enjoy it. And yes, the story is a good one. I’ve told it a few times already. 🙂

      May 17, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  4. angelcel

    The light in this is so pretty. …And I’m so impressed that your children are taking photos too.

    May 16, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    • The kids seem to like it. My oldest daughter seems to be on a mission to capture one image of every kind of flower.

      May 17, 2010 at 3:06 pm

  5. There is a story behind this photo, I’m glad your daughter is okay, and a memory you’ll have with your kids. I have those moments too and sometimes when I look at a photo, it’s about everything that’s not in the photo that gives me a chuckle 😉

    May 16, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    • Yeah, that is a great thing about the photos. They are great ways to stir up memories that nobody else can share. 🙂

      May 17, 2010 at 3:07 pm

  6. Oh the trials you go through, Sean! Glad to hear your little one is okay. You certainly will remember that day every time you see this photo! 🙂

    I like this image. I’m always so amazed at all the colors that will appear in something that is supposed to be ‘white’. Did the roses smell as good as they look?

    May 17, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    • Honestly, I don’t recall the rose garden, which is rather large, smelling much like anything. Also, there weren’t many bees or other bugs around, so maybe they didn’t smell like much. It was also the evening and the breeze was picking up, so maybe it was too late in the day for it.

      May 17, 2010 at 3:10 pm

  7. absurdoldbird

    You know what you saw, we don’t. We see what is here. What I’m looking at, I find beautiful. Love the light and the delicacy of the petals.
    🙂

    May 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    • Val, you have very good points and are absolutely correct. Still, I feel sharing both successes and frustrations is a great way to learn. 🙂 Thank you for the thoughtful comment.

      May 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      • squonky

        I agree with you both, and that is such a good point to raise Val. I sometimes take my daughter out shooting with me. She uses my little compact point and shoot and I’m very proud of some of the photos she has taken with it so far. The same kind of rational is in those photo trips for me too Sean. It’s “win, win, win” – I get to go out and shoot my photos, my daughter gets to come along, see cool things and have some photo fun with Daddy, and Mummy gets a very well earned break and some “Mummy Time”. However, kids *always* need to go even if you made sure they went just before you left the house. I feel your frustration Sean, all the more so because I’ve experienced it so often – although thankfully without the falling over episode, glad to hear she mended okay!

        May 27, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      • It’s great to hear that someone else has a tag-along-photog. 🙂

        May 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

