Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Thistle and Honeybee

Honeybee and Thistle - Apis mellifera - Silybum marianum - Schizaphis graminum

One of my new recent favorites!  Today, I took the kids hiking through the hills in San Antonio Park with some friends to visit Deer Hollow Farm.  The flowering thistles were drawing my attention but not delivering in any shots, no matter how much I encouraged them.  Along the hike, my friend mentioned the bee on a nearby thistle.  Needless to say, that was followed by several clicking sounds coming from my camera.

I love the pollen on this bee, the colors, clarity, aphids and spider web.

12 responses

  1. Good one Sean. Your bee pictures have been bee-utiful. I’m getting a bit of macro envy. 😉

    May 16, 2010 at 8:04 pm

  2. Thanks, Josh! I don’t know where the line for macro officially gets drawn and I suppose this one is in the gray area. I still don’t have a ‘macro’ lens, and this was just at the minimum focus distance of my 135mm lens. (w/o doing the reverse-lens bit.:) )

    May 16, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  3. NICE!!! 🙂 BTW…love your new banner photo… 😀

    May 16, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    • Thanks on both counts, Tracy!

      May 16, 2010 at 8:55 pm

  4. angelcel

    I can never seem to move quickly enough to get bee photos! Great shot.

    May 16, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    • Honeybees are pretty calm, its all the other bees that are more spastic and difficult for me to capture. Thanks!

      May 17, 2010 at 3:03 pm

  5. Spring is always the time for great macro shots. This is my favorite I’ve seen today. I love the keen look of the thistles.

    D.

    May 16, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    • Sweet! A favorite of the day, I’m stoked. 🙂 Thanks D!

      May 17, 2010 at 3:02 pm

  6. This is a wonderful shot, the colors are amazing and your right the clarity is perfect. I like your new header on your blog too.

    May 16, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    • Thank you, Consuelo. The pup in the header is Torina, my dad’s yellow lab. She’s a sweetheart and is determined to coat the world in a layer of white fur. 🙂

      May 17, 2010 at 3:04 pm

  7. Real nice colour and clarity here Sean… and the odd piece of wildlife really do help to capture the eye don’t they…

    May 17, 2010 at 6:31 am

    • If I had my way, every flower image would have a bee in it. It shows a bit of action. 🙂 Thanks, Brian.

      May 17, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

