Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Salsify Seeds II

Salsify Seeds II

What do you do when you don’t have a macro lens and you want to get on the Dandelion Bandwagon (1, 2, 3)?  Get a bigger dandelion!   Again, we have Salsify seeds setup in my ‘studio’.  In the afternoon, the sun comes through a window in my house and has served as my back-lighting system for awhile.  I think it worked well here.  The one thing I don’t have and need is a black backdrop to make something like this stand out even better.

The details in the fibers are wonderful.  Click through to see them in good detail.

15 responses

  1. WOW – awesome shot, Sean!!! Those salsify thingy-s are really cool! And so unique! As for the dandelions, well, they are soooo last week… 😉

    May 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    • Oh, I almost forgot – thanks for the nod(s)! 😀

      May 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      • Salisfy is the new dandelion, and it’s HOT! 🙂 Thanks, Tracy, and no problem on the links. Share the inspiration, ya know.

        May 22, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  2. aswirly

    Intriguing!

    May 22, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  3. WOW!!! Love everything about this!
    Btw. I have black (and a few other colors) posterboard that I use as a backdrop. I bought the big sheets, and you can even get them with a different color on each side. They’re inexpensive, and most importantly, easy to tuck away somewhere when not in use.

    May 23, 2010 at 4:43 am

    • Posterboard sounds like a great solution to keep around! I even have a place to store it next to my window. 🙂 Thank you, Michaela!

      May 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

  4. LOL… That reminds me of the solution to not having a pair of binoculars… “Just stand closer to the thing you want to look at”… 😉
    Real nice shot Sean, and that’s a pretty cool natural studio you have there… and thanks for the plug… 🙂

    May 23, 2010 at 7:18 am

    • hah. I would have gotten closer if I could have. 🙂 No problem on the plug. Links are easy.

      May 23, 2010 at 9:17 am

  5. The detail, composition and light are all fabulous.

    May 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  6. Dude… that is all.

    May 24, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  7. lilybug1960

    Gorgeous image and processing!

    May 27, 2010 at 7:03 pm

  8. This is quite a beautufil and abstract photography. Wonderful studio job, Sean!

    May 28, 2010 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

