Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Nothing Original Here

After taking my recent sunset images at the airport, instead of putting the camera away, I thought I would try to recreate Funkyslug’s great driving image as an experiment for the drive home.    It was a good learning experience which made me realize a few things.  I now understand just how damn good Brian’s image really is given the challenges of driving, especially where he used a 30 second exposure and I used 8.

For this I set the camera to have an 8 second exposure which was triggered remotely after a ten second delay.  I had the camera tripod setup behind the front passenger seat with the legs as wide as they would go.  I didn’t use the seatbelt technique which bit me on one left turn when the tripod tipped toward the outside of the turn.   Slower speeds resulted in sharper in-car details.

This was taken as wide as I could make it at 28mm and it is clear for this shot to really work, it needs to be a wider angle still.  I think it would have also helped to reduce camera shake further.    The only improvement of this image over its inspiration is that the steering wheel is on the correct side of the car. 😉  Thanks again, Brian!

9 responses

  1. angelcel

    Oh what a great shot and a great idea! I may have to have a play myself. 🙂

    May 25, 2010 at 10:15 pm

  2. Well I’m glad to see you gave it a try Sean… I’d recommend having a play to anyone… You’re right about the wide angle though as I used 10mm on mine, and it sure does pay off… and making sure the camera is nice and secure… lol… And the steering wheel… ummmm…. right = right… right !?!?… lol… 😉

    May 25, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    • If you noticed, I never said right. I said correct. 😀

      May 25, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  3. That is such a cool shot… and fun experiment! Maybe one of these days I’ll try that myself! (Kids in the back seat might be able to help keep the camera/tripod steady??)

    May 26, 2010 at 5:24 am

    • Put the kids to work! I do. 🙂 It was fun to try. The results were very different depending on driving locations and speeds.

      May 26, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  4. I can’t imagine the explanation I’d have to give the arresting officer if I attempted this shot!!

    Nice to see the steering wheel on the correct side! 😀

    May 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    • LOL! At least you could have documented it ;).

      May 26, 2010 at 9:57 pm

  5. squonky

    Well, you’ve certainly given me another shot to pop onto my list for my 365 project. I love the effect. I’ve often thought of doing this sat in the passenger seat, never really thought about strapping the camera in there with me driving. A bit of a shame I no longer have my Sigma 10-20mm (it was stolen about 6 months ago along with the rest of my camera and computer kit), the widest I can go is now 15mm (effective 24mm). Especially unfortunate as my car happens to be the tiny Citroën C1. Anyway, I love the effect and just to make it very clear Funky Slug’s car definitely has the steering wheel on the right, correct and proper side of the vehicle ;^)

    May 27, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    • hah! I’m glad I helped provide some 365 inspiration. As for the left/right/wrong situation, I’ll just leave that at no comment. 🙂 One thing to get around the wide-angle issue I thought about more, was to recline the passenger seat and setup fully in the back. It would get closer to a true wide-angle lens. Thanks Chris, and thanks for stopping by!

      May 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

