Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Yellow Wildflowers Over Lake Anderson

Yellow Wildflowers Over Lake Anderson

On the hike last Sunday with the togalongs, I noticed these little yellow flowers growing on the high bank of the lake.  I didn’t stop to shoot them on the way out, but I knew on the way back they would end up a target.  It took some work to get something that I liked, but in the end, I like the yellow against the blue water and seeing both sides of the lake.  Also, I tried the recommended technique of underexposing the shot to bring out the detail in the yellow.  Overall I think it worked quite nice.  The brightness of the yellow is still a bit lacking, but I think the detail more than makes up for it.

6 responses

  1. absurdoldbird

    This is good, the blue of the water makes the flowers stand out.
    I’ve been thinking about this problem of yellows since you posted about it. I must experiment myself, see if there is a way round it. I was wondering if using a slight blue or purple filter and then an adjustment layer might help (I mean via Photoshop).

    May 28, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    • The blue or purple might help further. I’ll have to try it one of these days. Typically, I stay out of Photoshop unless its an image I really really like. Lightroom gets me 95% of where I want to be with any image. Then I let them sit for a month or two to see if I still like them later. Then, I’ll finish them with “fresh eyes.” I find that I have strong reactions to images based on what I “wanted” them to be when I took them. Then, after some time, that goes away, and I can see it more like others see it, where the context of the shoot no longer plays in. Anyways I’m rambling. 😉

      May 29, 2010 at 9:28 am

  2. See? Photographing yellow isn’t that difficult 😉 You can always brighten it up a bit (I do that with a curves adjustment layer), but it won’t need much. I think it looks good as is. Beautiful shade of blue in the background.

    May 28, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    • Relatively, yellow is still a challenge, but I may be starting to tame it now. Thanks, Michaela.

      May 29, 2010 at 9:29 am

  3. I really like this one, the yellow flowers with the blue background compliments each other well.

    May 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    • If you can like these little drought loving flowers after your recent trip to the gardens, I’m stoked. 😀 Thanks, Consuelo!

      May 29, 2010 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

