Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Cool Water Flyin’

Seagull in Monterey

Doesn’t this make you want to go for a swim?  This shot was achieved through skillful negotiation, and patience.  The birds were flying in and out of this little cove and the family wanted to move on.  Of course once I setup for the background, the birds decided to take a rest from flying.  This didn’t help my small window of opportunity to get the shot I foresaw.  As luck would have it, everyone wanted to take a break like the birds and took a breather.  This gave me five more minutes to sit and wait.  Even though I would have preferred an incoming seagull, I was pleased to get this guy on his way out.   He’s in a good spot, great wing angle, and I can still see his eye.  Perfect.

12 responses

  1. aswirly

    Great catch with the gull! So clear 🙂 That gorgeous aqua blue water looks almost warm. Very beautiful and alluring…but I’d dare not wade in it without a wetsuit. lol. brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    May 31, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    • Good call. It is cold. I might recommend a drysuit. 🙂 I love the water in Monterey, it is usually amazingly clear. Diving there is fun, but brrrr.

      June 1, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  2. Yup! The angle of the bird enhances and its contrast against the blue water make it an image worth staring at…

    June 1, 2010 at 5:30 am

    • Now that is what I like to hear, something worth staring at. 🙂 Thanks, burstmode.

      June 1, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  3. Nicely composed…the tones, the water, the rocks, the gull. Just perfect!

    June 1, 2010 at 7:49 am

    • I’m slowly learning, with birds, setup for the background and wait. I did capture some pigeons as well, but we really needed that wonderful seagull white against the blues. Thanks, Tracy.

      June 1, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  4. Swim? Nope, I’d rather sit on the rock in the foreground and dangle my legs in the water.
    Love this shot! The seagull is in the perfect spot, and it looks like you’re flying right along with it.

    June 1, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    • The water would still probably numb your legs. 🙂 Thanks Michaela. I like the thought of flying along with this fella. Some of the stuff I have been reading on bird photography paid off here. Background is #1, patience is the rest. 🙂

      June 1, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  5. Hello Sean. This shot is absolutely beautiful. Love the perspective of the shot. Gives you the feeling that you’re gliding in the air right next to the bird. I repeat again, an absolutely beauty and stunner of a shot. Well done, Sean!

    June 2, 2010 at 10:26 am

    • Wow, a reiteration! I love it! Now if I could only figure out how to actually fly along with the birds, that would be something. Thank you very much, Vincent.

      June 2, 2010 at 5:55 pm

  6. Very inviting photo. My first glance at it made me want to get it that clear water and go swimming, just like you mentioned in your description. As others have mentioned, the glide of the really gives adds nice movement to the photo. Kudos!

    June 8, 2010 at 11:11 am

    • If you’re ever in Monterey, you should try the swimming. Its enough to make you want to get out. 😉 But yes, on a hot summer day is it ever tempting. Thanks!

      June 8, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

