Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Salsify, Revisited

Lets take a break from the California coast and once again revisit our (well maybe just my) favorite gigantic dandelion, the Salsify plant and its softball-sized seed ball.  Before this year, I had never heard or seen one before.  Now they are all over the place.  It must have something to do with the abnormally cold weather we’ve been subject to.

To get these images, attempted to pick the seed head off the plant to give it a proper backdrop.  Unlike a regular dandelion where this is a trivial task, salsify required me to resort to more aggressive tactics like such as employing a pair of scissors because breaking the fibrous stem by hand was difficult and risked disrupting the seeds.

Salsify Seeds on Head

Salsify Seeds

Salsify

13 responses

  1. LOL Dandelions on steroids? Much prettier, too. I really love the colored images.
    We vacationed in CA two years ago, and I can’t remember seeing those either.

    June 3, 2010 at 10:40 am

    • I need to have a camera when one is flowering. It is a cool purple white and yellow flower with something like 5 or so petals. I have let them seed some of my back yard. I should have more soon enough.

      June 3, 2010 at 11:02 am

  2. Those sure do look like quite the amazing plant, but I still can’t get my head around the enormous scale of them… Maybe in the next shot you should have someone holding one… lol… 😉

    June 3, 2010 at 10:51 am

    • I was looking for a dandelion to do a comparison shot with, but I couldn’t find one. Go figure. I’m sure I’ll have a scale shot soon.

      June 3, 2010 at 11:03 am

  3. I have salsify envy!! ME WANT SALSIFY!!! 😀

    June 3, 2010 at 11:25 am

    • LOL. I have plenty of seeds, that’s for sure. I can mail them somewhere if it wouldn’t create an ecological disaster. 🙂

      June 3, 2010 at 12:13 pm

      • Oh that’s funny! When I read your reply to my comment (never would have guessed that the flowers are purple, btw!), I was thinking that you might have to mail me some seeds!
        Just what I need, MORE weeds in my yard! But no one needs to know that I put them there on purpose, right? 😉

        June 4, 2010 at 3:56 am

      • Hey, supposedly you can eat the roots. I am going to try it and see if it is worth cultivating. They are supposed to have a flavor similar to oysters.

        June 4, 2010 at 10:07 am

  4. The tones and detail in that first image are splendid. I don’t have the patience to do macros like these.

    June 3, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    • Thank you Kala. The best part of this plant is, its not too macro given the size. It just gives the illusion of macro. The minimum focus distance of my lens is 20 inches. That image wasn’t cropped. Actually, I don’t think any of these were.

      June 4, 2010 at 10:11 am

  5. absurdoldbird

    I’m fascinated by the sort of wispiness around the seed heads, it’s lovely. And the whole photo, of course, but at the moment I think I’m in a ‘see detail’ mood!

    June 5, 2010 at 5:57 am

  6. aswirly

    Wow the dandelions are THAT strong huh? Sheesh. I don’t know if I’ve really seen one. hmmm…. These are awesome shots!

    June 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • Yeah, they are quite different. The only real similarity to a dandelion is the seed ball that results. Thanks, Amber.

      June 6, 2010 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

