Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Abandoned Shack

Abandoned Shack

Just outside the suburban areas of San Jose you’ll find lots of farmland that provides several possibilities for shooting rustic images.  One such opportunity, just at daybreak was a shack along the side of the road  filled with all kinds of junk.  There was some gang tagging on the walls and weeds growing up between all the clutter.  All the windows were broken out and water damage was very apparent.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love images of gritty scenes.  I’ve always been a fan abandoned places.  This image, with  the nasty mattress, cracked walls and trash contrasted with the soft, warm morning light, hills and trees has it all.  I really like this one.  It may even move to my favorites page next time I update it. 🙂

28 responses

  1. pikapika20

    I love images of gritty scenes too, especially this one! The cracking wall juxtaposed with the peaceful scene out the window is just perfect ^_^.

    June 5, 2010 at 9:53 am

  2. Hi sean, I love the “heat” of the sun warming the cold and neglected interior.
    At first I saw the window as a portrait of a landscape hanging on the wall!
    Well done!!
    Jan

    June 5, 2010 at 10:12 am

    • Thank you, Jan. That is exactly what I was going for. 🙂

      June 6, 2010 at 9:22 am

  3. calvininjax

    The composition and colors of this shot are just perfect.

    June 5, 2010 at 11:36 am

  4. Perfect. What a contrast! Grit and dirt, and that beautiful landscape bathed in warm morning light. Almost unreal, but a beautiful image.

    June 5, 2010 at 11:51 am

    • For me, it was an unreal find. 🙂 I had been looking for something like this to photograph for awhile. Thank you, Simone.

      June 6, 2010 at 9:25 am

  5. What an incredible shot, Sean. Looks like you did an HDR treatment to it. Really nice. Should be framed.

    June 5, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    • Good eye. This was a 6 exposure HDR. However, I didn’t necessarily want it to *look* like an HDR image. The warm toning, that was deliberate. Thanks, Dave.

      June 6, 2010 at 9:29 am

  6. aswirly

    This is really nice Sean! Love that contrast of the gritty dirty foreground, with what looks like a lovely pristine landscape out the window. Brilliant 🙂

    June 5, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  7. What a find, Sean. I don’t think I would have had the photographic eye to see or capture this! Like Jan, I first thought the window was a framed print haging on the wall. The juxtaposition of that serence view with the neglect and grittiness of the inside of the shack, well, it works brilliantly.

    But not only that, the scene makes me think of the folks who at one time called this place home and looked out that very window. How did it come to this state? A place of dashed hopes and dreams…

    June 6, 2010 at 7:26 am

    • Sweet! I’m glad this is conjuring up a story for you! Its telling just enough to leave plenty of fill-in-the-blank moments. I love it. Thank you much, Tracy.

      June 6, 2010 at 10:12 am

  8. This is pretty cool Sean, and I defo agree on the urbex front, as they certainly do capture the imagination… Not sure you ever caught any of my abandoned building shots, but I for one can’t get enough of the places…

    June 6, 2010 at 8:07 am

    • I saw your building shots first time I visited your blog. I found them amazing. I would love to get inside every abandoned site and spend a few hours in each. I can only think of the images that would result. Thanks, Brian.

      June 6, 2010 at 10:13 am

  9. This is really nice! The contrast between the ugly inside and the beauty outside the window is the first thing I noticed.

    June 6, 2010 at 11:06 am

  10. squonky

    I sure wish I could find some place like this to shoot. That early morning sun and the view out of the window make such a wonderful juxtaposition with the interior of the shack. And I really like the way you’ve captured that bright light creeping into the dank ruins of the shack – the way it’s glowing off the ceiling and around the upper edge of the window frame. Great colours and a great story telling shot – one where the viewer gets to make up their own story about who lived here and why it’s now abandoned. Love it.

    June 6, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    • Thank you, Chris. I haven’t stumble on many places like this before. I would like to find more of them. This one seemed unique with the scene outside.

      June 8, 2010 at 8:33 am

  11. The contrast between the beauty of nature right outside the window and the dingy remnants of human life inside make for quite a memorable photograph.

    June 6, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  12. Wow, this is truly an interesting shot. How did you manage to get in or could anybody go in there?

    June 6, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    • Thanks, Consuelo. I never went inside, all the shots are taken from outside the windows. It wasn’t a very large space.

      June 8, 2010 at 8:35 am

  13. Hello Sean. The contrast between the two scenes is an excellent idea. Good technical skill as well to keep both scenes in perfect exposure and detail.

    I always love looking at photos of abandoned buildings. It makes me wonder what happened to the people who used to call this building home. Where have they went? What happened to them? A good photograph is one which can tell a story on its own. You, sir, have done exactly that with this shot. Well done!

    June 7, 2010 at 9:42 am

    • Thank you much, Vincent. I’m glad I was able to get a story across with this one. 🙂

      June 8, 2010 at 8:36 am

  14. Good shot Sean. I was going to ask about the HDR because it’s hard to get a window exposed properly, like you did, from inside a room thats dark. But I saw you already answered that question in one of the previous comments. Great job.

    June 8, 2010 at 11:03 am

    • Thank you, Mike and welcome back! I’m glad to see you’re posting again.

      June 8, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

