Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Silverback Staredown

Silverback Gorilla - Santa Barbara Zoo

After attracting the Flamingo’s glare at the Santa Barbara Zoo, I managed to catch the attention of the Silverback Gorilla.  This was pretty cool.  I’ve seen plenty of gorillas at the zoo, but never one quite as active as this one was.  He even charged to his spot for a moment.  That was enough for me to clearly understand that I never want to be at the receiving end of that charge.  He was looking my way for me to get plenty of shots.  These are my two favorites.  Yup, for the bottom one, I even had the time to turn bracketing on to make the most out of the 2pm lighting.

Silverback Gorilla - Santa Barbara Zoo

5 responses

  1. That second shot is excellent! I really love the expression on the silverback’s face. He is so very big, yet, there is a gentleness and such emotion behind those eyes and mouth. The dramatic lighting really highlights the silvery-black fur. Well done! 🙂

    June 22, 2010 at 4:40 am

  2. aswirly

    He’s beautiful. I think he’s smiling at you too 😉

    June 22, 2010 at 3:08 pm

  3. Beautiful, you captured him well. He’s facial expression and everything, great shots 🙂

    June 23, 2010 at 9:19 pm

  4. This is a big collective thank you for everyone. I completely dropped the ball on my responses as life got in the way for awhile. I’ll make up for it with new photos. 🙂

    Everyone says this guy looks like he’s smiling. I just remember the aggressive behavior moments prior. I was more nervous sitting way up in the viewing area.

    July 6, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  5. That’s a big guy! Great shots!

    July 7, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Leave a Reply

