Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Independence Day

Independence Day

I’ve been away from the camera for awhile and at the computer quite a bit.  The holiday weekend provided just right setup to resume shooting.   On the morning of the 4th, my daughter (on left) was more excited than she has been in a long time.  She kept going on-and-on about how she loved the 4th of  July.  I couldn’t fully understand it until we got to the block-party.  She had the whole street where she could do just about whatever she wanted for as long as she wanted to do it.  Little parental oversight,  lots of independence.

This photo of the girls playing summed up their mood for the day.  Having lots of fun, not a care in the world.  Its the only day of the week were nobody says a word that you left your scooter lying in the street.

14 responses

  1. fabulous capture, so crisp. The timing couldn’t be better!

    July 5, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    • Thank you, Dustan! I really love just how clear this one is too. It almost feels staged to me, even though it wasn’t.

      July 6, 2010 at 6:14 pm

  2. I agree, perfect timing! And great lighting, too.
    Sounds like it was a perfect day.

    July 6, 2010 at 3:18 am

    • Super fun day! I don’t think I could have gotten better lighting if I had tons of gear! 🙂 Thanks, Michaela.

      July 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  3. Sandy

    That’s an awesome shot!
    I was expecting fireworks, love this interpretation of independence day.

    July 6, 2010 at 7:02 am

    • Fireworks of excitement! 🙂 Thanks, Sandy and thanks for stopping by!

      July 6, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  4. This photo makes me smile, Sean! It is quintessentially a picture of childhood innocence and pure fun!

    July 6, 2010 at 7:27 am

    • This makes me remember the parties my parents went to with other families where I was essentially forgotten about for several hours. Those were good days. Definitely fun! Thanks, Tracy.

      July 6, 2010 at 6:17 pm

  5. That’s a great shot Sean.. Perfect timing and amazing light too…

    July 6, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  6. Awesome shots, great timing as well 🙂

    July 6, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  7. absurdoldbird

    I seem to be a bit behind with commenting on your posts, sorry.
    Looking at this photo (which is great) makes me think of how children can be captured in time and frozen there for as long as an image will last and as long as there’s someone to appreciate it.
    I have a couple of photos of myself as a child (age about nine or ten) playing with a hula hoop. As I was ill a lot as a child, photos of me being active are quite rare and I love having them to remember something of my past that would otherwise have been completely lost to memory, even to my own. I hope your daughter will be able to hold onto photos of herself like this.
    🙂

    July 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    • You’re behind reading, I’m behind posting and responding. It all works out in the end. 🙂 It’s amazing how much less time one has in the summer.

      Thanks for giving this perspective, it’s great. I didn’t even look at this shot from this view and you’re right, it is one that will bring back good memories. Thank you much, Val!

      July 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

