Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Photo Club Competition Night

While I’ve slowed my pace of posting, I still have some favorite images that haven’t made it into competition yet.  Tonight my small club had another competition for the categories Monochrome Pictorial, Color Pictorial, Nature and Creative.  As usual, some great pieces were presented.   The comments from the judge overall were good.  I don’t necessarily agree with all of them of course. 🙂  I included some of the takeaways below each image.

Cherries

Cherries - Digital Color Pictorial

Judge Comment: Could be cropped tighter to lose a bit of the left side to place more emphasis on what is in focus. Either that or stop it down just a bit. The situation may not have made this possible if it was low light.

My thoughts: I agree with the cropping bit, I think there is probably too much on the left. This was taken in extremely bright, direct light. I did lots of work to tone down the harshness. The fact that it was perceived to be low light, I consider a victory. 🙂

Caught!

Caught! - Monochrome Pictorial - 2nd Place

Judge comment: Love the expression on the man’s face.  It makes the image.  Also the curve of the benches is nice.  However, I would have loved to see this cropped tighter to put more focus on the facial expression.

My thoughts:  I agree with everything except the crop.  The empty bench row adds just as much as the facial expression.  Plus, I like the birds.

Honeybee Swarm (Apis mellifera)

Honeybee Swarm (Apis mellifera) - Nature - 1st Place

Judge comment: Eek, I hope you were careful taking this.  The bees are crisp, the background tells enough of a story but isn’t important.  This is a good nature story.  The title could have included the details about the swarm protecting the queen.

My thoughts:  I agree.

Recursion Error

Recursion Error - Creative - 3rd Place

Judge comments:  Not many comments other than general observation and appreciation of the work that went into this.

My thoughts: This has changed quite a bit since I originally made it.  I have tried to make it look more like it was done with a cheap toy camera.

4 responses

  1. I think it’s great that you have such an active photo club, and that you’ve been placing well in the competitions. You’ve got some great works entered!

    July 15, 2010 at 4:08 am

    • Thanks Josh. Have you looked into the clubs out there? There are lots of them in the bay area. I love them for the commentary and to see other people’s work and get some tips.

      July 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

  2. I think it is gret that you can get impartial feedback like this! I hadn’t seen “Recursion Error’ – it is fantastic! LOVE the idea of it! nor had I seen “Honeybee Swarm” – scary but also, fantastic!

    July 16, 2010 at 6:35 am

    • Thank you much, Tracy. I am a fan of Recursion Error, but it never quite achieved my vision for it. So I am bound to do another one in the future I’m sure. 🙂 Glad you liked them and got a chance to see them.

      July 16, 2010 at 8:52 am

Leave a Reply

