Photography, Cycling and the Internets

USS Clamp, ARS-33

USS Clamp, ARS-33

On our boating adventure in the Suisun Bay, we toured the mothballed fleet, aka the ghost fleet.  There is a wide variety of ships and levels of decay.  This particular ship is the USS Clamp, which is a Diver-class rescue and salvage ship from WWII.   Her fate is to sit next to lots of other vessels indefinitely.  This is a three-exposure HDR image taken while on another boat, which was moving while I was trying to be my own steady-cam.

9 responses

  1. Nicely processed image with great light.

    August 2, 2010 at 12:03 am

  2. angelcel

    Well you’ve done very well with the steady-cam! Very nicely done.

    August 2, 2010 at 1:51 am

    • One could say that I have good sea legs. 🙂 Thanks, AC.

      August 3, 2010 at 10:13 am

  3. I love this shot, and I’m very impressed that you managed to get a HDR from a moving boat!

    August 2, 2010 at 7:10 am

    • I’m a fan of this one too. Thank you, Journey and thanks for stopping by!

      August 3, 2010 at 10:17 am

  4. This is a really great shot! I wouldn’t have guessed HDR because the processing is so subtly. You really captured the ‘ghost fleet’ feeling. Just wonderful!

    August 3, 2010 at 6:28 am

    • I was going for, as I usually do with HDR, something closer to what I see when looking at a scene like this. Yes, this has some post-hdr processing to emphasize the mood, but I like subtle. Thank you, Tracy.

      August 3, 2010 at 10:27 am

  5. Pingback: Or a psychiatrist | Adventures of an Idiot – occasional ramblings of a photography freak

Leave a Reply

