Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Have a Favorite?

The annual Fotoclave competition is coming up and I am considering entering some digital images and perhaps try my hand at a print or two. (maybe).  The categories are Color Pictorial, Creative, Travel, Nature, and Photojournalism.  I am allowed two entries per category, and then my club picks from all entries 20 per category to move on to the larger competition.

I only have two creative images, so that is easy for me to decide, and I am way out-classed in everything outside of color pictorial.  So what I’m asking for help in, is choosing the two images to submit, and perhaps two I should make prints of, for the color category.

Digital entries have a long-edge max of 1050 pixels, so details may get lost, which is what gives a preference for high detail to get printed.

Candidates:

Ghost Ship

Ghost Ship

Stored Memories

Stored Memories

A View to Something More Beautiful

A View to Something More Beautiful

Abandoned Shack

Abandoned Shack

Deep Red

Deep Red

Or if you had other favorites that I didn’t list, please suggest it.  Let me know your two favorites.   Thanks!

14 responses

  1. I need more information. I guess I am just not sure what the ‘color pictorial’ category is looking for. You know I LOVE ‘Ghost Ship’ but I also like ‘Deep Red’. Just not sure which is a better fit for the competition.

    August 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    • Pictorial is really anything color and fine-art esq. I think the vast majority of your images that I’ve seen would qualify for Pictorial. Ranges of winners have been flowers, landscapes, portraits, other objects, etc.

      Here’s a link with previous winners: http://www.fotoclave.org/comp-about.html

      Luckily I get to pick two. Four if I do prints.

      August 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

      • Hmmm, in this case then, I think I am now leaning towards ‘A View to Something More Beautiful’ since there is a story there. I still would also go with ‘Deep Red’. JMHO 😉

        August 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

      • Yeah, I can’t get myself away from that one. I like it quite a bit. 🙂

        August 16, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  2. The baby carriage is so gut punching creepy. I love the detail in it, especially the shadows. It’s hard to imagine how the artifacts we find today, rusted and of a design that no longer seems appealing, were once beloved treasures.

    Enjoying your shots as usual,

    D.

    August 12, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    • Gut punching creepy. 🙂 I like it. Thanks once again, D.

      August 16, 2010 at 9:14 pm

  3. angelcel

    I find ‘A View to Something More Beautiful’ hits me on an emotional level, so that would be my favourite. It’s the squalor and clutter inside but then the window (which looks like a painting) to open air and beauty.

    August 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    • Thanks, AC. I love that one of my images can hit someone on an emotional level. I consider that a win by itself 🙂

      August 16, 2010 at 9:14 pm

  4. The third one!!! My favorite by far out of these.

    August 13, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  5. I like the first and last the most.

    August 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  6. I’d go for deep red as the digital entry and ghost ship for the larger print… 🙂

    August 15, 2010 at 2:01 am

  7. Thanks all for the feedback and votes! I think I am going to do Ghost Ship and View as prints for sure. They are both pretty strong and I think they will hold up when printed. Stored Memories and Deep red will go in as digital submissions. Now, let’s see if I can pass the initial screening process. 😛

    August 16, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  8. aswirly

    Did you already submit them? I like the ones you chose for sure. I think My fav though is “A view to something more beautiful”. I LOVE that one!

    August 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    • I submitted the digital ones, but I still have to make the prints. Thanks, Amber.

      August 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

