Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Golfing in Iowa

Glynn's Creek Golf Course

I’m off on a short family visit in Iowa this week and man, is it green here.  The brown grasses and hills of California make one forget just how different it is in the middle of the country.  Looking out the airplane window, all you see is green green green with creeks, streams and rivers cutting up the farmland.  I managed to get out to the golf course with the some of the family yesterday and play 18 holes.  This one spot had a great view down the hole with the cart perfectly positioned in the foreground.  Way off in the distance beyond the green, is the corn fields.

If the clouds cooperate in the next few days, I’m going to chase down a barn or two and see if they’ll play nice for the camera.  I even rented a wide-angle lens for this trip in my efforts to replicate a FunkySlug image.  My work’s cut out for me :).

Below is another view of the course with the sun cutting through the clouds.

Sun Cutting Through Clouds

13 responses

  1. Great shots. growing up in Iowa and now living in LA, I too remember the richness of the Iowa landscape in the summer. Thanks for the post and great shots!

    August 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

    • It is a great contrast in the summer isn’t it? Thanks!

      August 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  2. Hey, we just drove thrpugh Iowa a couple days ago!
    Cool pics!

    August 19, 2010 at 11:27 am

  3. Kay

    Hey, Sean, great pics…I feel like I was there!

    August 19, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    • You don’t say! 😉 It was a fun day, thanks again!

      August 19, 2010 at 8:59 pm

  4. Ahhhh, golfing with the camera in tow… Does it get any better than that… Nice shots Sean.. Have fun with the wide angle, but of course you do realise you’ll not be able to give it back… Thanks for the plug too… 😉

    August 19, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    • I’m liking the lens, but I think I want more than this one. It only gets down to 17mm, and I am wanting it to shave some more mms off. In combination with my other lens, I’ve got a nice range now. 🙂

      August 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm

  5. aswirly

    That sky is fantastic! Did it rain? Lovely colors and sunbeams. Have fun on your trip, and with the wide angle. Isn’t the wide angle addicting? 😉

    August 19, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    • It had been raining just before we hit the course. It made for a great sky. I was all amped for sunset and then about an hour before sundown, poof, they vanished. The wide angle is great. Especially with a big, interesting sky.

      August 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm

  6. Wow like both of these shots, love the clouds and the sunbeam too.

    August 19, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  7. Lovely shots, Sean! You’ve managed to make a golf cart look cool! (Can you tell I’m NOT a golfer? 😉 )

    ‘Godbeams’ are on my list of photos I’d like to take. Nicely done here!

    August 23, 2010 at 8:23 am

    • It’s not too late to start golfing! Perhaps you’ll find your godbeams on the course. 🙂 Thanks, Tracy.

      September 7, 2010 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

