Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Roadside Barn

Roadside Barn

This little barn sits just outside of Davenport, Iowa.  The doors don’t appear to work anymore as they are off the tracks or off the hinges.  In looking for a good barn to photograph without burning lots of gas randomly driving around in my limited time with a car, I resorted to Google Street View.  I was able to find some good spots which also provided some spontaneous subjects along the way.

For this shot, I like the detail in the wood and clouds and how it all comes together.  This is nice in color as well, but the black & white brings out the contrast nicely.

4 responses

  1. I think this is a great B&W shot! I know I like it better this way, even w/o seeing the color shot. Great processing, too! Nice idea using Google maps to find the barn. great job!

    September 7, 2010 at 8:16 am

    • Thank you! This one keeps growing on me. I may have to print it. 🙂

      September 7, 2010 at 8:45 pm

  2. aswirly

    Nice idea using Google street view to find spots 🙂 Very cool little barn and the detail and those awesome clouds work real nicely together!

    September 7, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    • Thanks, Amber. I have been a fan of using google street view and google earth for scoping places out. It certainly saves lots of time. The only thing then that becomes lucky is the weather and clouds.

      September 7, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

