Photography, Cycling and the Internets

Endless Pier

Endless Pier

During my Sunday walk in San Francisco, I really liked the pier and the potential it brought for getting some good shots.  For this one I wanted to play with symmetry.  The camera is just slightly above the ground, as dead-center as possible.  There are breaks in the symmetry with the Bay Bridge being visible through the bars and Yerba Buena island looming on the right side.

Not that it is a surprise, but I did some post processing on this to get the tones as I saw them.  It was an incredibly bright day and this represents my view of the pier by the time I got to it.  Wanting shade, feeling like the colors were all just running together and high contrast was everywhere.

I have a creative interpretation of this shot that I am working on.  Stay tuned. 🙂

10 responses

  1. Is this a pier no one knows about, or did you get up really early, to avoid getting any people in the shot?
    Great point of view!

    April 21, 2010 at 3:28 am

  2. There are people in this shot at the far end and off to the left side. They’re far enough away that you can’t really make them out at this size.

    April 21, 2010 at 5:54 am

  3. Really nice perspective. This reminds me of one of those opening movie scenes where you first see the empty pier and then ghost-like images of the scene begin to slowly dissolve into place. The tones here are very old-tyme feeling.

    April 21, 2010 at 7:26 am

    • It would have to be a movie set in the 60’s or 70’s I think. Perhaps a scene from Bullitt since it was shot in San Francisco. Thanks!

      April 21, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  4. You’ve done real well with the symmetry in my opinion… and I love the textures you’ve captured on the pier itself..

    April 21, 2010 at 11:12 am

    • Brian, thank you again. I do get the sense that when looking at this I could easily put a mirror up to the center-line and it wouldn’t look much different. I’m glad the textures work for you. I’m a fan of the rustic looking wood myself.

      April 21, 2010 at 8:43 pm

  5. I like this shot. The pier looks really nice, can’t wait to see the creative version 🙂

    April 21, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    • I hope it works out. I had some challenges with pass number 1. I think I figured out what I need to do the second time around. Part of it just requires more patience and diligence on my part.

      April 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  6. Cool shot. I love piers. They are fun to take pictures of. Very nice.

    April 24, 2010 at 12:00 pm

  7. Thank you, Andrew. And thanks for stopping by!

    April 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Leave a comment